Chickens / Images

In the Garden

The chickens take turns free ranging these days.  The EOs and German New Hampshires are out from 8:00 am until about 2:00 pm and get to enjoy the morning sun.  The New Hampshires tend to stay up by their coop, but the bold EOs come down by the house.  I get them back in their run by bringing up a tray of moistened feed.  Then, I let the adults out for the rest of the day until dusk.  Pretty soon, I will need to start whittling down my group of adults to make room for these adolescents.  In the meantime, I am enjoying my last few weeks of summer vacation.

6 thoughts on “In the Garden

  1. It’s good to be a chicken in you’re neck of the woods!

    Love the hummingbird moth – those guys are sooo fast – and skittish too!

    • Yeah, we’ve been lucky so far – *knock on wood.* Thanks for identifying that moth! I didn’t know what kind it was, but I did think it was huge and acting just like the hummingbirds!

Leave a comment