Chickens / Community Chickens

Changes in Spring on Community Chickens

As you probably know, we are in the midst of a move!  When I’m not working, my days are spent cleaning, packing, painting, and renovating both my new home and old, which we are preparing to sell.  (If anyone is looking for an affordable home with city water and sewer and high speed cable internet plus a spring box, apple trees, wild raspberries, and 3+ acres of pasture and woods in rural western Virginia, let me know! 🙂 )

Alas, this is the first spring where I have not been able to hatch any chicks!  Oh, how I missed them come Easter!  However, it just doesn’t make sense to hatch when we are readying the house and preparing to move.  I’m plotting, however, and the plans only become grander the longer they are put off.  I am sure the realities of establishing a new homestead will temper my excess of enthusiasm, but I have no doubt there will be a mid-summer hatch this year.

IMGP2526

After the move, I hope to return to my regular blogging schedule of a longer article each weekend and a short mid-week post, but in the meantime, I hope you are enjoying the beautiful spring weather and perhaps fuzzy little chicks of your own.  Enjoy calculating and recalculating your ratio of cockerels to pullets.  If you want to take a look at how I like to arrange my brooder and care for chicks, take a look here and here or on Community Chickens here.  If you are trying to guess the sex of your chicks, you can take a look at some of the ideas here.

I also posted a brief article over on Community Chickens last Saturday if you’d like to take a look.  I talk about increased broodiness and egg laying and the changes in egg color which are often noticed in spring.

IMGP2548ed

Changes in Spring

Are you getting more eggs in your basket?  In spring as the day length increases, chickens will lay more frequently.  Did you know that leg color, egg color, and behavior may change as well?

Chickens lay fewer eggs in the winter and more in the spring and summer.  As chickens lay more eggs, they use up more nutrients in their body reserves.  You may notice that yellow-skinned hens’ legs lighten as the laying season progresses.  This is because they are drawing upon the carotenoids which make the skin yellow for the yolks of their eggs…

Continued on Community Chickens

Shared with:

Down Home Blog Hop

9 thoughts on “Changes in Spring on Community Chickens

      • I am not very proud of myself…stepping in your world like that. But since I have done it; On free ranging birds, comb and legs (in my own breed) stay yellow.
        Some breed eat more green than others I suppose. For my part as I make my own feed I add, like you said, more carotene as alfalfa meal, algae (i live by the ocean)
        More calories in the winter 3100kcal.
        The feed that most of us buy is for industrial birds that need to stay alive for just a few weeks and it is build on less cost.

        You are doing a great job…thank you

      • Please step into my world anytime! I appreciate your sharing your expertise. This is the first I have heard that a hen does not have to lose the pigment in her legs as she lays, but it makes sense to me. If a pregnant woman eats enough calcium, then pregnancy won’t take it from her bones. It follows that, if a hen eats enough carotene, then her eggs will not need to take it from her skin.

        Thank you also for sharing the supplements you add to your homemade feed. Excellent considerations. You are always welcome, and I appreciate your advice.

  1. I haz fuzzy yellow chicks! d;^))

    Can you get free the afternoon of the 4th? The gals from the frozen northland are coming down!

  2. Pingback: Change and Change Again | Scratch Cradle

Leave a Reply

