Uncategorized

What Are You Interested in Reading?

IMGP7228

Hello, there!  I’m working on ideas for this blog for the upcoming summer and fall, and I would love to hear from you.  What sort of flock do you have at home?  What are you interested in reading about on Scratch Cradle?  If you would like to share some feedback, please take a short few minutes to take the Scratch Cradle Readership survey on SurveyMonkey.  It’s fully anonymous and doesn’t request your email address or any other personal information.

I can’t wait to hear from you!  Thanks and have a lovely evening!

13 thoughts on “What Are You Interested in Reading?

  1. My current interest is in feeding my flock without the use of commercial feed. I love the ferments, or I should say my chickens love the fermented food, this is the best change I’ve made in a long time. I’m also interested in housing that utilizes and optimizes the best way to keep hens in regards to their laying and scratching over winter.

  2. Hi Heather
    I liked your article on fermenting food for chickens, Can’t wait to get started.

    Can you make a large batch and refriderate what they don’t eat that day?

    The fermented food that they do not eat that day, is it safe for the next day feeding unrefriderate?

    I also have hens that are 4 months old, is it safe for them too?

    Thanks

    • The ferment won’t need to be refrigerated at all and will last indefinitely if you keep enough water and food mixed in to keep it going. Just making sauerkraut developed as a way of preserving cabbage long-term without refrigeration using lactic acid fermentation, your use of lactic acid fermentation for nutritional and probiotic value will also preserve it without refrigeration. Just make sure the bacteria have what they need – plenty of water and something to digest. Thanks, Robert!

  3. I am reading Harvey Ussery’s Small Scale Poultry Flock. What an incredible book! I wrote a long and detailed review for Amazon and then lost it before I could post. (This is a good reason to write things in word processing first) This book is a wealth of information on integrating a flock of chickens into the homestead. I am really looking forward to implementing his ideas about using chickens in various places around the property. Out of my flock of 50 birds, several can be tilling in a garden chicken cruiser. Several others could be in the pasture following my sheep. Another group can be put to work on a weed patch and yet another group of chickens is sent to work in the compost pile. All of these birds can be moved around the property doing various tasks that they love to do while making the soil richer. This book covers every aspect of raising chickens including how to set up a poultry house for a variety of purposes at the same time. One can learn how to brood chicks as well as eviscerate meat birds. The photos are clear and beautiful and Harvey Ussery is a true chicken lover. With so many chicken books on the market I cannot afford them all but this one is on my shelf as a reference for life.

    • BTW that exact same thing has happened to me more times than I could count! I really do try to write things up in a word processor, but sometimes you don’t realize how much you are going to write until you write it.

  4. Oh, duh!? I just realized you wanted to know what we would like to read about on your site. Well I guess you know what I want to read about. Hope no one minds very much that I reviewed Harvey Ussery’s book.
    I would always like to hear about feeding chickens on a shoestring. Chicken feed ain’t chicken scratch, at least not the commercial varieties. Cultivating a rich insect life on the homestead is another idea presented in Ussery’s book. I have to say that Japanese Beetles are “psychedelic caramel corn” for my chickens. They hang around in the orchard just waiting for the beetles to come their way. Ok I’m done now.

    • No problem – you reviewed my absolute favorite chicken book! I agree with you so whole-heartedly. He covers breeding, feeding, housing, eating…. everything you need to get started with a really functional, productive homestead flock. I am very interested in producing my own chicken feed beyond the basic forage and compost that they are working with now as I move to my new homestead with the intention of becoming self-sufficient. That is a topic we will definitely explore! Thank you, Julie!

  5. Pingback: Scratch Cradle Readership Questionnaire Results! | Scratch Cradle

Leave a Reply

