Homestead Vision and Action / Images

Point Mountain Homestead

IMGP9645

Here are some images from our visit to our new property in West Virginia today.  The property is at 3,800 feet and covered in gorgeous, rare red spruce.  There is a 50′ pond, a large house which was built in the 1930s and added to in the 1990s.  It has interior plumbing from a strong spring and amazing hardwood floors throughout.  The house is actually heated with vents that distribute the warm air from the huge wood stove in the basement.  I love it.  I am over the moon!  What do you think the chickens will think of all of this snow!?!

IMGP9686

IMGP9691

IMGP9692

IMGP9698

IMGP9777

IMGP9795

IMGP9801

IMGP9820

IMGP9833

IMGP9842

IMGP9867

Shared with:
The Chicken ChickNatural Living MammaDown Home Blog HopFarm Life at its Best

48 thoughts on “Point Mountain Homestead

  1. beautiful. sounds like heaven. looking forward to pictures as you develop the place. I’m afraid our chickens don’t like the snow. kathy

    On Sat, Feb 9, 2013 at 6:23 PM, Scratch Crad

  2. Wow Heather….it is so beautiful. I can only imagine what it will look like come spring! I think the chickens will LOVE it.

    We are also homestead hunting…Monday we are supposed to hear from our mortgage broker….so exciting!

    Your last 3 blog posts couldn’t have come at a better time! They have made me “rearrange” my chicken future…as well as my permaculture homestead plans!

    Thanks for the awesome posts! Without reading them…I would have kept charging ahead, all unorganized and totally “spastic excited” and stuff. Ha

    Once again, beautiful property! Congrats!

    Kelley

    • Thanks! It took nine years of dreaming, legwork, and chasing dead ends, but it is finally paying off. I think the key is to make the most of what you have in the meantime so that you can see what works and really zone in on what you want.

    • Definitely. There is no coop at the moment. We are going to build something. I want it to last 40+ years, so I am thinking and rethinking the design. I’ll be living with it for a long time. We’ll have other people living with us out there (parents, etc.) so I need to enlarge my flock. (Not that I mind!) The coop will have to be bigger than anything I have now.

  3. Nice! I had to look up the different varieties of spruce. The views are great. It’s fairly flat where our house is. I look forward to photos of chickens exploring the yard!

  4. WOW! What a beautiful homestead! You have great views there too! I’m sure the chickens will love exploring the new property. Living in West Virginia myself, I know we have beautiful scenery, especially with a fresh snow. Can’t wait to see pictures in the spring/summer!

    • Thank you, Kristina! What area of West Virginia are you in? It is a beautiful state. There will definitely be spring/summer pictures, but at 3,800 feet, I have no idea when the snow will finally melt!

      • My husband and I have 13 acres in the Eastern Panhandle, about an hour from Winchester, VA. We’re not quite as high as you are so our snow melts fairly quickly. My chickens aren’t crazy about the snow at all but if I shovel a path for them, their happy. 😀

      • That’s awesome, Kristina. That’s a beautiful area. We are definitely planning to clear areas for them. We’re getting a snow blower for sure, so I hope we can clear them little paths and some areas to range.

      • you’re welcome. iwish you well. i don’t know how cold it gets there, but my chickens still go outside in the winter here in middle eastern ny. if we get deep snow they stay close to the coup and follow the paths were we walk you mostlikely will build a steep roof for snow to slide off. of gosh i wanted to do this back years ago. i’m too old and single now but i am clinging to my mini farm [61/2 a] in a small village. been here over 40 years and now my 4 kids have moved on to their own lives ; again best wishes to you. bobbie

  5. Wow! I can see why you are excited. Do you have any neighbors? I know how hard it is to find a place with water. You are lucky to have that pond and a spring. We had to settle for a stream and river. My husband wanted to build a pond, but it had a huge price tag. Can’t wait to see how things progress. Best wishes.

    • Thanks, Barbara! The nearest neighbors are a few miles away. We are mostly surrounded by land that belongs to a timber company. (That weirded me out at first, but it looks pretty natural – selective, not clear cuts, and they only come every 10-40 years.) We are also only 1 mile from the border of a huge National Forest that meets up with the Cranberry Glades wilderness area, so we can go 40 miles and not meet up with any roads or houses…. Very rural. I would love a stream and a river! I really like moving water, but we are about a mile from the Elk River. We can at least get to a river easily. I am happy about the pond. It’s stocked: If it’s stocked with catfish, I can have some ducks. If it’s trout, then no ducks for me. We’ll see!

  6. Heather, you and your husband have followed your dream to fruition, that is awesome. You should be able to raise all the necessary livestock to take care of you and your family. There are many good folk who live in the mountains who will make great neighbors for you. What you have is your paradise, enjoy it as you should. Your flock will enjoy their lives, the free ranging and provide you with eggs and great meat. Ain’t it great!

    • Thank you, Art. I do think we have the room to do everything we need to become self-sufficient in time, which is our goal. We are bringing a friend and some family as well, and I believe we will be able to work together and provide for everyone. I do think our neighbors – a ways down the road though they are – will be a great resource, and I think the flock will do well with a well-insulated coop! I’m planning on more than 4 square feet per chicken because they may be inside a fair amount of time, and I’m thinking about ways to produce and store our own feed to get through the winter. We’ll buy feed in the beginning until we get a system that works. I am so excited, Art. My head is swimming every night and I haven’t fallen asleep before midnight for more than two weeks. It’s a wonderful thing!

  7. Very pretty scenery and an awesome place to live away from the noise of the city. Where you can enjoy nature and a lot of wildlife.

  8. Looks like a beautiful piece of property with gorgeous views, you must be really excited! We are making do in our small suburban home while we search for our perfect property. I am both envious and happy for you!

    If you need help designing or drawing up plans for you new coop I’d be happy to help. I run my own architectural design business and enjoy helping others who are trying to live more sustainable lives!

    • I am absolutely thrilled, Rob! Thank you! We are planning to build with cordwood construction for cost. To make the build easier, we are planning a simple, slanted metal roof. I have a draft of a plan which I will post later this week. I would love your feedback on that! Any ideas are wholeheartedly appreciated. We will also be building a greenhouse at some point, haven’t decided if it will be attached to the house or freestanding. I will definitely have some questions for you on that, too!

  9. Pingback: Catching Up | Scratch Cradle

  10. Pingback: Chickens for Cold Climates | Scratch Cradle

  11. Pingback: Changes in Spring on Community Chickens | Scratch Cradle

  12. Pingback: Moving with Chickens | Scratch Cradle

  13. Pingback: Update on the Big Move | Scratch Cradle

Leave a Reply

