Uncategorized

The Sky Blue Landscape of January Days

IMGP0570ed

One of my favorite poems is “Like You” by Roque Dalton.  I first read it in an emotive collection of poems from Curbstone Press called “Poetry Like Bread” which my parents bought for me while visiting Woodstock, New York.  Why post it on a chicken blog?  Well, “poetry, like bread, is for everyone,” and the sky today reminded me of Dalton’s words.

Like You

By Roque Dalton

(Translated by Jack Hirschman)

Like you I
love love, life, the sweet smell
of things, the sky blue
landscape of January days.

And my blood boils up
and I laugh through eyes
that have known the buds of tears.

I believe the world is beautiful
and that poetry, like bread, is for everyone.

And that my veins don’t end in me
but in the unanimous blood
of those who struggle for life,
love,
little things,
landscape and bread,
the poetry of everyone.

IMGP1011ed

in the original Spanish
Como Tú

Por Roque Dalton

Yo como tú
amo el amor,
la vida,
el dulce encanto de las cosas
el paisaje celeste de los días de enero.

También mi sangre bulle
y río por los ojos
que han conocido el brote de las lágrimas.
Creo que el mundo es bello,
que la poesía es como el pan,
de todos.

Y que mis venas no terminan en mí,
sino en la sangre unánime
de los que luchan por la vida,
el amor,
las cosas,
el paisaje y el pan,
la poesía de todos.

IMGP1364

2 thoughts on “The Sky Blue Landscape of January Days

  1. I’ll have to share that with my friends here in Costa Rica. We are having those sky blue days here now that the rainy season has departed. Ah, the bread of life, here it is Pura Vida, the good life. Bread, poetic in all that it is. Thanks for the flood of memories!

    Art

Leave a Reply

