Chickens / Images

Basque Hens Out and About

11 thoughts on “Basque Hens Out and About

  1. I just love that top photo. Looks like everybody’s looking to see if the coast is clear before venturing out!
    Also love the last shot where you caught the rooster mid-crow!!

    • They are cute, peering out like that! I worked for that crow picture. 🙂 As soon as I saw him readying for it, I began snapping as fast as I could to try to get one at peak-crow!

    • The silver one is a feeder, and the Lowes bucket has a chicken nipple on the bottom and is a waterer. It’s much bigger than it needs to be, but I think that the extra air mass and extra volume of warm water that I can put in the bucket helps keep it unfrozen longer in the winter.

      • I lost the trigger thingy for my bucket feeder and used a spoon instead. It worked like a charm, the hole in the bottom of the bucket is either 5/8″ or 3/4″, it sure cuts down on the amount of feed non-chickens get!

Leave a Reply

