Chickens

New Basques at 3 Weeks

Basque Hen pullet

My second batch of Basque Hens are three weeks old.  I let Rosie keep all of her chicks, of which there are three left, and tried to return all cockerels but my twisted-necked fellow.

At this age, I am becoming certain which are male and which are female as their secondary sex characteristics develop, such as a reddening comb on the cockerels.  It seems that the Australorp I kept is a cockerel, as is the twisted-necked fellow and one other incubator-hatched chick I kept.  I also kept four pullets from my hatch.  Rosie has one pullet and two cockerels as far as I can tell, so that is a grand total of 10 chicks, with five Basque pullets and five cockerels (Australorp, twisted, and three other Basque cockerels).

Basque Hen cockerel

Rosie’s chicks are smaller than mine.  I think she wastes a lot of their food by digging it into the ground.  I’ve tried a number of feeders, but she knocks them all over.  So far, this one has remained upright.  We’ll see how it goes.

Despite the heat and the extra work, I am really enjoying these chicks.  They are so friendly, curious, and pretty.  I can’t wait to see how they grow out.

I love this little pullet of Rosie’s! Cute as a bug.

This boy’s twisted neck is straightening out. He looks to be recessive white.

One of Rosie’s boys

A steamy shot of the seven incubator chicks

A Basque Hen pullet (Let’s hope!)

A little golden Basque Hen pullet

3 thoughts on “New Basques at 3 Weeks

  1. I can trade you out a BA pullet for the BA cockerel if you wish, and we can watch the EO pullets as they come along and get your flock where you want it to be too.

Leave a Reply

