Chickens / Incubation

Lockdown for the Easter Hatch

Well, just a quick update: I locked down my Basque Hen eggs on Monday along with a few from my own flock, and all of the rest will be locked down tonight.  On day 18 of incubation, you stop turning the eggs, increase the humidity, and stop opening the incubation in anticipation of hatch.  For more information, you can check out my incubation guide.

Well, here’s a picture of Monday’s eggs before lockdown:

And here is a picture of one of my first pips!!!  As of right now, I have 3 Basque Hen eggs and one Speckled Sussex egg pipped.  These are only on day 20, so they are running just a bit ahead of schedule.  I might have chicks by morning!

My brooder is set up.  I’ll be warming with an EcoGlow from Brinsea to reduce my electric bill and chance of a fire (versus a heat lamp) and watering with a hamster waterer right from the beginning.  I’ll post some pictures of the set up tomorrow. Wish the little chickies luck and have a good night!

6 thoughts on “Lockdown for the Easter Hatch

  1. Thanks, everybody!!!
    Well, one did hatch out overnight, another in the morning while I was getting ready for work, and many more today! I’ll post an update later. They are adorable!

Leave a Reply

