Anecdotes / Chickens

Early Snow

Well, it’s October 28th, and last night, it snowed.  No, not flurries, but big, wet flakes of snow which accumulated to a depth of two inches last night.

When I went to get the chickens, I wondered if they would come outside.  I wondered if they would be afraid of the snow, or if it would be so cold that they would head straight back into their coop.

What I did not wonder is if the “roof” of my run would have collapsed overnight making the run unusable.

Well, it turns out that snow does not fall through deer or bird netting but instead settles in right on top.  The heavy, wet snow of last  night pulled down the top of the run which had been working so well over the past week at keeping all of the chickens inside.  Hmm.  I’m going to need another plan.

In the meantime, I used my mittened hands to remove what snow I could and was able to resurrect about half of the run.  I am hoping they do not get stuck in the netting on the other side, although I tried to arrange it in such a way that they would not, and I will be checking on them throughout the day to be sure.

As for their reaction to the snow, they did meet it with some hesitation, and after only about a minute, Lady (the black and white EE) decided she’d had enough and went back in.  Most of them were picking around the yard when I left them.  I wonder what they think of the snow.

5 thoughts on “Early Snow

  1. I was wondering how your chickens were faring! At least the netting kept most of the snow off the ground, giving them some earth to walk on. What do you think about a thick, clear plastic tarp over the top? It would allow the light in, keep the snow out (with adequate support from underneath), and would maybe act as a little bit of a greenhouse keeping some of the heat in. There would be enough ventilation because the sides of the run are open.

    • I think that’s an awesome idea, but I just don’t know how to make the support structure. The snow is so heavy that I will need actual framing for anything that is going to hold it up. Hmm…

  2. We used welded wire for our run. Our thought was keeping the chicks in and predators out. I originally got the 5′ due to the cost. The 6′ was a bit more expensive. As it turned out we had to add another 2′. Our smaller chicks can still get out occasionally. We have moved everything they can get up on and still one gets out. Soon she “should” be too heavy to fly over. There is one small section at the gate that we put up 1′ instead of 2′. That has to be where she is getting out.

    • Mine love to fly up, latch onto the side of the wire, and with their weight, bend the wire over to create a little horizontal landing zone. I have heard that the welded wire should be stronger. I am sure that little section is exactly where she is getting out. Always the path of least resistance.

      Well, all of the netting is up again for today. We’ll have to consider an alternative for down the line.

  3. Pingback: Finally Some Snow! « Scratch Cradle

Leave a Reply

