Chickens / Coop

Finishing Off the Coop and Run

As the weather cooled, we decided it was time to get the windows up on the coop.  We found a number of windows in the crawl space under the house, and I chose the ones with the six separate panes.  Using two hinges per window, we hung them from the top, allowing them to be propped open and still keep out the weather.

We still need to cover the vents.  I will most likely screw a piece of plywood over the large vent in the back which is on roost-level to prevent any chance of a draft.  If the windows are leaking air, they will be covered with pieces of clear, plastic drop cloth taped down with duct or painter’s tape.  The small vent at the top of the eastern wall will remain open in all but the worst weather.  Lastly, I will buy bales of straw to set around the coop for added insulation.

Because the girls were flying out of the run, I added the last few feet of wire around the big run.  Then, they flew over the temporary door, prompting me to finally get the door up, and I’m glad I did.  The coop finally feels nearly finished as it is now fully-functional.  Only trim paint and vent covers remain on the to-do list for this year.

5 thoughts on “Finishing Off the Coop and Run

  1. I absolutely LOVE your set up! The chicken run makes it easy to run the chickens in at night! It would be nice to allow them to free range, but there’s the risk of an owl or coyote picking them up, like a serial killer at a bar :p

  2. I love your set up! The chicken run makes it easy to run the chickens in at night. It would be nice to be able to allow the chickens to free range, but there’s the possibility of having an owl or coyote pick one of the chickens up 😦 I love your blog too! I had a hard time at first trying to figure out what scratch cradle meant, but after seeing your site, it makes more since now 🙂

    • I actually do free range them from about 3:30pm until they put themselves to bed each night. There is certainly increased danger when free ranging, so we like at least one of us to be home when they do. The run comes in really handy when we will be out or when we have company who may not want to be mobbed by hens looking for a treat. 🙂 I like to keep the chicks in a run full-time because they are a bit tempting to my cats. I wish I had a “chicken tractor” to use for a grow-out pen and may make one at some point. Will you be free ranging?

Leave a Reply

