Chickens / Incubation

Day 14 Candling

I candled again this evening and removed the non-developing eggs.  In addition to the four clears and two early quitters I saw on Day 7, there was one additional late quitter, leaving 9 of the original 16 eggs.  I am disappointed with this rate, but given that the package traveled from coast to coast and, despite 2-day Priority shipping, took 5 days to arrive, I should probably be satisfied.  If 8 of these hatch, I will have the 50% hatch rate typical for shipped eggs.  We’ll see; last time, I lost 4 after Day 14.

All of the eggs that had clam-shapes and loose-seeming contents did develop, so lesson learned there.  The 9 developing eggs lost an average of 10.79%; 15% total weight loss would allow 9.99% by Day 14, so we are still a bit dry.  However, the air cells in the eggs appeared to be the proper size.  I’ve decided to hold humidity around 40% for the 4 remaining days until lockdown on Day 18.  At lockdown, humidity is raised to 65%, the turner removed, and the incubator readied for hatch.  During my last hatch, I had my first pip on the evening of Day 19!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I weigh the eggs using a digital scale; I rest a single egg cup cut from an egg carton on the scale and tare the scale before weighing the egg.  To candle the eggs, I wait until the sun is down and turn off all of the lights in the house.  I hold the small LED flashlight in my left hand, forming my thumb and index finger into a circle and using my other fingers to hold the light against that circle.  I use my right hand to hold the egg against the outside of the thumb and index circle, creating a light-tight seal.

3 thoughts on “Day 14 Candling

  1. Thanks for showing pictures of the candling. It’s interesting to see what’s inside a developing egg! The speckles on the “clear” egg remind me of a universe! Good luck! Hope they’re all girls!

    • It really is an apt metaphor. I think the Hindu religion sees the universe as an egg. Candling is really hard to photograph because there is so little light available and you can’t use a flash. You gave me an idea, so I just posted a link to amazing candling pictures that show the process very clearly. I hope they are all girls, too!

  2. Pingback: Olive’s Developing Egg « Scratch Cradle

Leave a Reply

