Chickens

Week 3 Portraits

   Well, the chicks are three weeks old today, and I’m starting to think there are a lot of roos!  The Easter Eggers will have pea comb, three rows of bumps, the center row being higher.  I’m thinking the first three Easter Eggers are likely roos, so 3/5.  I’m also suspecting that, not one, but two of my Wellies are boys; despite the lighter color of one Wellsummer, the comb is large already, much like the already suspected roo, which would be 2/3.  I am not sure at all about the Sussexes yet, but again, I am suspecting 2/3.  If I’m right – and let’s hope I’m wrong! It’s early yet! – then 7/11 chicks would be boys.  Statistically, this is totally possible, but I am praying I’m wrong!

You’ll notice some do NOT like having their pictures taken.  Without further ado, here they are:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

   Today is also Day 7 for the eggs in the incubator, so I will be candling tonight to see if they are developing.  I’ll update you tomorrow!

One thought on “Week 3 Portraits

Leave a Reply

