Chickens / Incubation

We Have Liftoff

    Well, 21 eggs are now in the incubator.  As for liftoff,… it was actually rather anticlimactic.  I cleaned up my practice lockdown, wiped out extra water, put the aluminum foil back over the central tough, and put the turner back into the incubator.  The turner was plugged in, and I set in my little clutch of eggs and nestled the thermometer on top.  There, that’s it.  I placed the lid back on top and put some warm water in through the tubing….  The hummm continues.  That’s it.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

    The temperature dipped into the mid-80s from the cool eggs, but everything is now back up to temp and the humidity is holding at 40%.   I weighed and candled the eggs before putting them in, but I couldn’t see the air sac on any of the eggs.  I probably just have no idea what I’m doing.  We’ll see how things look in a few days.  Even if I can’t see the air sac, I can weigh the eggs and see if they are losing enough weight.  If not, I’ll lower the humidity.  Well, we’ll  just have to wait and see.   I just have to be patient, if possible…

If I have ever made any valuable discoveries, it has been owing more to patient attention than to any other talent. – Isaac Newton

Leave a Reply

