Gardening

Planting the Planters

    This is not about chickens.  You didn’t think I had it in me, did you?  Well, this past weekend I actually spent several hours doing something other than work-work, school work, or chickening.  (Yes, that is a verb.  Ahem.)  I spent a few warm hours in the sun on my deck planting some seeds in my planters.

    I had intended to prune my dwarf apple trees and cherry tree (which are young and have not yet produced fruit), but there had been so much rain the previous week that the yard was like a bog and I didn’t want to walk on or work the saturated soil.  So, itching to play in the dirt, I decided to experiment with my planters.

    I have a whole grow-light rig in the house (cool and warm florescent lights hanging from chains over metal shelving), but those shelves are currently full of unrelated stuff that I haven’t felt like moving.  I decided to try and use my planters as small cold frame to start my tomato and pepper plants.  It might not work, but I’m giving it a shot.

   I buried cardboard tubes from toilet paper and paper towel rolls and planted my tomato seeds inside of them.  I have never done this before, either, but I am hoping that the plants will be easy to dig and transplant with most of their roots contained.  When I ran out of those, I planted my pepper plants in egg shells with holes poked in the bottom.  Then, I covered those sensitive plants with a plastic plant tray cover.  I decided to use the extra space on the sides to plant carrots and witloof chicory, and then I covered the whole thing with a piece translucent drop cloth.  Hmm.  I wonder if it will work.   (FYI – what you see in the pictures below is not a miniature graveyard.  I’m just using half pieces of tongue depressors as plant markers.  Inexpensive.)

   Although it is probably too early for some of these things, I decided to strike while the iron was hot (iron = my motivation) and plant the other two planters with: snap peas, turnip, radish, parsnip, spinach, mache, arugula, and tatsoi.  Because I was in a totally wild mood (I think all of this experimentation is inspired by my chickening…), I also threw an organic russet potato from the fridge into the dirt.  If it grows, I’ll hill the dirt and fill in around it just to see what I get. 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

    Meanwhile, Lynx was sunning herself, Icelos was preening in a nest of leaves in the old doghouse, and Talli was trotting back and forth, gleefully herding cats and staring down at the neighbors.  The day was a lovely prelude to spring.

“Just living is not enough. One must have sunshine, freedom, and a little flower.”  – Hans Christian Andersen

One thought on “Planting the Planters

  1. I’ve never heard of the toilet paper roll planting strategy before, and I love your idea to use an eggshell! I imagine some nutrients will leach out of it into the soil to enhance the vegetables. Very cool! Your planters look artistic, neat and orderly! Good luck with your experiments. I can’t wait to hear how everything turns out!

    Evelyn

Leave a Reply

